SPRINGFIELD – State Senator Don Harmon (D-Oak Park), Chair of the Illinois Senate Executive Committee, defeated a thinly veiled attempt by Republican legislators to disenfranchise voters by requiring them to present a state-issued photo ID on Election Day.

“Voters already have an ID card,” Harmon said. “It’s called a voter registration card. Election judges don’t need to see another form of ID. We should be making it easier for American citizens to vote, not harder.”

Three Republican senators filed legislation that would require voters to show a state-issued photo ID before they are allowed to cast their ballots, such as a driver’s license or another form of identification with a photo. Though they claim their plan is an anti-fraud measure, its primary effect would be to disenfranchise voters who – for whatever reason – don’t have a state-issued photo ID card. The majority of voters affected would be seniors and minorities because these groups are less likely to have state-issued IDs than others. According to an AARP report, 11 percent of American adults don’t have a photo ID, including one in five citizens over the age of 65.

Read more ...

Category: News

021313br0027rSPRINGFIELD – A group of nine Illinois State Senators have banded together to promote the interests of Illinois’ second-biggest county. Their first goal: giving the county board the authority to consolidate smaller levels of local government.

“DuPage County is a unique part of the state,” said Sen. Don Harmon (D-Oak Park), founder and co-chair of the new DuPage County Caucus. “Many of its communities have similar concerns and expect similar things from state government. I thought it was important for all the senators who represent the area to discuss these issues and form an advocacy plan.”

DuPage County is represented by a diverse group of state senators who belong to both political parties. In addition to Harmon, who serves as President Pro Tempore, the DuPage County Caucus includes Christine Radogno (R-Lemont), the Senate Republican Leader. The other members of the caucus are Co-Chair Michael Connelly (R-Wheaton), Tom Cullerton (D-Villa Park), Kirk Dillard (R-Westmont), Linda Holmes (D-Aurora), Dan Kotowski (D-Park Ridge), Pat McGuire (D-Joliet) and Jim Oberweis (R-North Aurora).

Read more ...

Category: News

Contact Me

Email President Harmon

Springfield Office:
327 Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(p) 217.782.8176

Oak Park Office:
6941 W. North Ave.
Oak Park, IL 60302
(p) 708.848.2002

Social Media

facebook 50pxtwitter 50px

Find Your Legislator

E-Newsletter Signup

eNewsletter Signup
First Name(*)

Invalid Input

Last Name(*)

Invalid Input

Your Email(*)

Please let us know your email address.